1st Date with Char Coal

If you read my last blog you would know that I went on my 1st date is Mr Char Coal after being rejected by my other unrequited loves. Take a look if this doesn’t make sense.

Well I am pleased to say that we had a wonderful time, as short lived as it was with kids… you know the drill.

I first started with a drawing which I greatly admire by Thomas Anshutz titled Woman Drawing. I loved doing the large stroke work so much I decided to try another, this time from a photo of my mum and my youngest when we was only a baby. Both drawings took about 40 minutes each so is that sketching? I don’t think I could ever be a realist considering the patience required.

My version of Woman Drawing by Thomas P. Anshutz

My version of Woman Drawing by Thomas P. Anshutz

It may be difficult to decipher the image from my version. It is a woman drawing a figure cast. The big triangle in the middle is her hat.

Here is the original by Thomas Anshutz.

Woman Drawing by Thomas P. Anshutz

Woman Drawing by Thomas P. Anshutz

The image was taken from Lessons in Classical Drawing by Juliette Aristides.

Please don’t compare the two. I included the original because it is beautiful and I didn’t want you to miss out. The scan has lost some detail and dark tonality which is a shame.

Here is the other sketch.

Grandma and Son

Grandma and Son

If I could have had my time over again I would use courser paper.

4 thoughts on “1st Date with Char Coal

Leave a Reply

