Have you ever …?

Have you ever asked yourself the very common question known as “where are my keys” but while driving your car?

This is much worse than frantically searching for your glasses while you are actually wearing them.

Another question I ask is “where is the peeler” but more like “WHERE IS THE PEELER?!?!?”. Lovely Loxley who is only 2 years old looks at me pensively before asking me something in return which doesn’t help, and Tailor (the dog) looks eager but that’s easy for a border collie. I then rumble through the first and second draw for at least one, just one, only one of the 4 peelers we own. Just before I find one I pledge to explain what feels like the umpteenth time to my husband where the peeler belongs. I mean, how inconsiderate to just carelessly deposit all four peelers where I can’t find them when I have endless apples to peel not to mention all the carrots and potatoes for dinner. And then I find a peeler …… luuuckyeee.

I would be really interested …. no, more in desperate need to hear that I am not the only one who does this, and often I am ashamed to say….. Whilst watching a movie or television drama and a secret has been revealed to the viewer but not to the good guys who need to know this secret, the first thing I think is “how can I tell so and so? How can I get a message to him about …..?” Then in what must only be a split second, I start to formulate a plan that continues to form until it comes to the inevitable hurdle which is “I don’t actually know these people, let alone have any means of communicating with them and oh that’s right …. It’s not even real. No, I’m just sitting on my couch watching this fabricated story line with people known as actors on a thing called a television”. Anybody?

Well to restore any dignity that I have left after that last confession, I have decided to switch the topic of conversation to something, or rather someone, associated with class, dignity and refinement – Degas. I recently bought two books from Amazon (my bestest buddy) and they are gorgeous. I know, liking Degas is so clichéd but for good reason. I believe Degas was a master of light. I have been absorbing his monotypes allowing his mastery of light to hit me smack bang between the eyes, just ravishing. I am also particularly fond (love love love) his composition. I could ramble away a whole post on his composition but enough rambling for now because I want to share Degas monotypes with you.

Did you know, as I was trying to find some images of Degas monotype to place on this blog, I discovered Picasso was indeed a fan? He believed Degas monotypes were “the best things (Degas) ever did” so if you don’t believe me, believe Picasso. The link to the page is here if you would like to read more about Picasso and Degas. The website is www.antiquesandfineart.com. There is even a book about Picasso’s obsession with Degas. It is on my next Amazon spending spree list.

Picasso Looks at Degas

Picasso Looks at Degas

For now, absorb …

Degas Monotype, The Tub

Edgar Degas (1834-1917)
The Tub, ca. 1876–1877
Monotype, 16-1/2 x 21-1/4 inches

Reproduced from http://www.antiquesandfineart.com/articles/article.cfm?request=972

Edgar Degas Monotype The Fireside

Edgar Degas
The Fireside (1876-1877)
Monotype in black ink on white heavy laid paper

Reproduced from http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/68.670

2 thoughts on “Have you ever …?

  1. I would like to send you some pictures of art that I have – from an estate sale. 🙂 You seem to be in about the same era I am – I have been working on this mystery for 25 years – for my mother, an artist. And I am not one.
    I spent weeks in libraries, and now have, at least, the internet.
    Interested? abfmph@gmail.com
    You can remove email/comment if interested or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

