Mum’s Studio

Like I said in an earlier post, my mum is an oil painter. Her studio is filled with endless brushes, deformed paint tubes, traditional frames, charcoal of course and still life items such as jugs, tea-pots, iron pots, all so numerous in presence they could almost start a government.

It is here that I drool over her library and listen to Chopin on a CD player while sitting on a patchwork quilt covering a cane couch, pondering, visualising and ignoring my children’s disagreements outside. Wonderful.

Mum's

A post shared by hb (@harperbeddow) on

Mum's

A post shared by hb (@harperbeddow) on

Mum's paints

A post shared by hb (@harperbeddow) on

Mum's

A post shared by hb (@harperbeddow) on

A post shared by hb (@harperbeddow) on

The envied

A post shared by hb (@harperbeddow) on

Mum's

A post shared by hb (@harperbeddow) on

My favourite

A post shared by hb (@harperbeddow) on

 

6 thoughts on “Mum’s Studio

  1. I loved this! I could almost smell the oils! My mum was a children’s artist when I was growing up! She did whimsiclal paintings and later I followed her… doing artshows and how funny now that I changed my art studio to a writers’ studio… my actress daughter has started getting crafty and did a whole crop of art shows last year!
    I love your writing… clicking Follow!

    1. It’s funny how normal it seems when as a child there is charcoal on the telephone, paint on the light switches and fridge handle. And yes the smell of oils too. I have visited your daughters blog which I have book marked for a slot where I have a lot of time. I have a feeling I am going to like her blog very much.

    1. One reason why I love blogs, to be able to store treasures and memories and it’s nice when it sparks treasured memories in others. So glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

